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Regulation of the Peabody Board of Health  

Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products 
and Nicotine Delivery Products 

 
A. Statement of Purpose: 
 
Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac diseases, 
negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat1;  
 
Whereas among the 15.7% of students nationwide who currently smoke cigarettes and were less than 18 years 
old, 14.1% usually obtained them by buying them in a store (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount 
store) or gas station2; 
 
Whereas nationally in 2009, 72% of high school smokers and 66% of middle school smokers were not asked to 
show proof of age when purchasing cigarettes3; 
 
Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive as 
cocaine or heroin4; 
 
Whereas despite state laws prohibiting the sale of tobacco products to minors, access by minors to tobacco 
products is a major public health problem; 
 
Whereas many non-cigarette tobacco products, such as cigars and cigarillos,  can be sold in a single “dose;” 
enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to cigarettes; are available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are 
popular among youth5; 
 
Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the percentage of high school 
students in Massachusetts who reported the use of cigars within the past 30 days went from 11.8% in 2003 to 
14.9% in 20096; 
 

                                                           
1 Center for Disease Control and Prevention, (CDC) (2012), Health Effects of Cigarette Smoking Fact Sheet.  Retrieved from: 
http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistice/fact_sheets/health_effects/effects_cig_smoking/index.htm. 
2 CDC (2009), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)  2010: 59, 11 (No. SS‐
55))  Retrieved from: http://www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth/yrbs/index.htm. 
3 CDC Office of Smoking and Health, National Youth Tobacco Survey, 2009.  Analysis by the American Lung Association (ALA), 
Research and Program Services Division using SPSS software, as reported in “Trends in Tobacco Use”, ALA Research and Program 
Services, Epidemiology and Statistics Unit, July 2011.  Retrieved from: www.lung.org/finding‐cures/our‐research/trend‐
reports/Tobacco‐Trend‐Report.pdf. 
4 CDC (2010), How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease:  The Biology and Behavioral Basis for Smoking‐Attributable Disease.  Retrieved 
from: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2010/. 
5 CDC (2009), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (MMWR 2010: 59, 12, note 5).  Retrieved from: 
http:www.cdc.gov/mmwr/pdf/ss/ss5905.pdf. 
6 CDC (2009) Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (MMWR 2010: 59, 72 (No SS‐55)).  Retrieved from: www.cdc.gov; and CDC 
(2003), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (MMWR 2004: 53, 54 (No. SS‐02)). 
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Whereas in Massachusetts, youth use of all other tobacco products, including cigars, rose from 13.3% in 2003 
to 17.6% in 2009, and was higher than the rate of current cigarette use (16%) for the first time in history7; 
 
Whereas nicotine levels in cigars are generally much higher than nicotine levels in cigarettes8; 
 
Whereas non-residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) machines located in retail stores enable retailers to sell 
cigarettes without paying the excise taxes that are imposed on conventionally manufactured cigarettes.  High 
excise taxes encourage adult smokers to quit9 and high prices deter youth from starting.10   Inexpensive 
cigarettes, like those produced from RYO machines, promote the use of tobacco, resulting in a negative impact 
on public health and increased health care costs, and severely undercut the evidence-based public health benefit 
of imposing high excise taxes on tobacco; 
 
Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, who are particularly at risk for 
becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products and nicotine delivery products are incompatible with the 
mission of educational institutions that educate a younger population about social, environmental and health 
risks and harms; 
 
Whereas research has shown that raising the minimum legal drinking age to 21 has reduced alcohol 
consumption among youth and protected drinkers from long-term negative outcomes in adulthood, including 
alcohol and other drug dependence11 ;  
 
Whereas more than 80 percent of all adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 18; and more than 90 
percent do so before leaving their teens;12 
 
Whereas in a lab analysis conducted by the FDA, electronic cigarette cartridges that were labeled as containing 
no nicotine actually had low levels of nicotine present in all cartridges tested, except for one;13 
 
Now, therefore it is the intention of the Peabody Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products and 
nicotine delivery products. 
 
B. Authority: 

 
                                                           
7 Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Data Brief, Trends in Youth Tobacco Use in Massachusetts, 1993‐2009.  Retrieved from: 
http://www.mass.gov/Eeohhs2/docs/dph/tobacco_control/adolescent_tobacco_use_youth_trends_1993_2009.pdf. 
8 National Institute of Health (NIH), National Cancer Institute (NCI) (2010).  Cigar Smoking and Cancer.  Retrieved from: 
http://www.cancer.govb/cancertopics/factsheet/Tobacco/cigars. 
9 Eriksen, M., Mackay, J., Ross, H. (2012).  The Tobacco Atlas, Fourth Edition, American Cancer Society, Chapter 29, p. 80.  Retrieved 
from: www.TobaccoAtlas.org. 
10 Chaloupka, F. J. & Liccardo Pacula, R., NIH, NCI (2001).  The Impact of Price on Youth Tobacco Use, Smoking and Tobacco Control 
Monograph 14:  Changing Adolescent Smoking Prevalence) 193 – 200. Retrieved from: http://dccps.nih.gov/TCRB/monographs/. 
11 6 DeJong W, Blanchette J 2013. “Case Closed: Research Evidence on the Positive Public Health Impact of the Age 21 Minimum 
Legal Drinking Age in the United States.” J. Stud. Alcohol Drugs, Supplement 17, 108 – 115, 2014. 
12 SAMHSA, Calculated based on data in 2011 National Survey on Drug Use and Health. 
13 Food and Drug Administration, Summary of Results: Laboratory Analysis of Electronic Cigarettes Conducted by FDA, available at: 
http://www.fda.gov/newsevents/publichealthfocus/ucm173146.htm 
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This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Peabody Board of Health by 
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 that "Boards of Health may make reasonable health 
regulations." 
 
C. Definitions: 

 
For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings: 
 
Blunt Wrap: Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly or in 
part from tobacco that is designed or intended to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillers. 
 
Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment to be the 
manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment. 
 
Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or 
without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 
64C, Section 1, Paragraph 1. 
 
E-Cigarette: Any electronic nicotine delivery product composed of a mouthpiece, heating element, battery 
and/or electronic circuits that provides a vapor of liquid nicotine to the user, or relies on vaporization of solid 
nicotine or any liquid. This term shall include such devices whether they are manufactured as e-cigarettes, e-
cigars, e-pipes or under any other product name. 
 
Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific or technical 
institution, university or other institution furnishing a program of higher education. 
 
Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer. 
 
Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of individuals 
that uses the services of one (1) or more employees. 
 
Minor: Any individual who is under the age of twenty-one (21) years. 
 
Nicotine Delivery Product: Any manufactured article or product made wholly or in part of a tobacco substitute 
or containing nicotine that is expected or intended for human consumption, but not including a product 
approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for sale as a tobacco use cessation or harm 
reduction product or for other medical purposes and which is being marketed and sold solely for that approved 
purpose. Nicotine delivery products include, but are not limited to, e-cigarettes. 
 
Non-residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) machine:  A mechanical device made available for use that is capable 
of making cigarettes, cigars, or other tobacco products. RYO machines located in private homes used for solely 
personal consumption are not Non-residential Roll-Your-Own machines. 
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Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly 
to consumers who applies for and receives a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit or any person 
who is required to apply for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit pursuant to these 
regulations, or his or her business agent.  
 
Retail Tobacco Store: An establishment which is not required to possess a retail food permit whose primary 
purpose is to sell or offer for sale to consumers, but not for resale, tobacco products and tobacco paraphernalia, 
in which the sale of other products is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons under the age of 21 is 
prohibited at all times, and maintains a valid permit for the retail sale of tobacco products as required to be 
issued by the Peabody Board of Health. 
 
Self-Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product or a nicotine delivery 
product without assistance from an employee or store personnel. 
 
Tobacco Product: Cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, bidis, snuff or tobacco in any of its forms. 
 
Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money, tokens or 
any other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes, any other tobacco product or nicotine delivery 
product. 
 
D. Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales to Minors Prohibited: 
 

1. No person shall sell tobacco or nicotine delivery products or permit tobacco or nicotine delivery 
products to be sold to a minor; or not being the minor's parent or legal guardian, give tobacco or nicotine 
delivery products to a minor. 
 

2. Required Signage: 
a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a copy of 

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or 
other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail. The 
notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and made available from the 
Peabody Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted 
conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it 
may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly 
face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or 
greater than 9 feet from the floor. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to 
sell tobacco products at retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the 
Massachusetts Department of Public Health. 

 
b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail shall 

conspicuously post signage provided by the Peabody Board of Health that discloses current referral 
information about smoking cessation. 
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c. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell nicotine delivery products at 
retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating “The sale of nicotine delivery products to minors under 21 
years of age is prohibited.” The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell e-
cigarettes at retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating, “The use of e-cigarettes at indoor 
establishments may be prohibited by local law.” The notices shall be no smaller than 8.5” by 11” and 
shall be posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that they 
may be readily seen by a person standing at, or approaching the cash register. These notices shall 
directly face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 or 
greater than 9 feet from the floor. 
 

3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco or nicotine delivery products shall verify the 
age of the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic identification containing the 
bearer's date of birth that the purchaser is 21 years old or older. Verification is required for any person under 
the age of 27. 

 
4. All retail sales of tobacco or nicotine delivery products must be face-to-face between the seller and the buyer 
and occur at the permitted location, except as provided in Sections J and K. 
 
E. Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit: 
 

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco or nicotine delivery products at retail establishments 
within the City of Peabody without first obtaining a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales 
Permit issued annually by the Peabody Board of Health. Only owners of establishments with a 
permanent, non-mobile location in Peabody are eligible to apply for a permit and sell tobacco products 
or nicotine delivery products at the specified location in Peabody. 
 

2. As part of the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant 
will be provided with the Peabody Board of Health regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a 
statement declaring that the applicant has read said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for 
instructing any and all employees who will be responsible for tobacco and nicotine delivery product 
sales regarding federal, state and local laws regarding the sale of tobacco and this regulation. 

 
3. Each applicant who sells tobacco is required to provide proof of a current tobacco sales license issued by 

the Massachusetts Department of Revenue before a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales 
Permit can be issued. 

 
4. The fee for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be determined by the Peabody 

Board of Health annually.  
 

5. A separate permit is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco and/or nicotine delivery 
products. 
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6. Each Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be displayed at the retail establishment 
in a conspicuous place. 
 

7. No Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit holder shall allow any employee to sell tobacco 
products or nicotine delivery products until such employee reads this regulation and federal and state 
laws regarding the sale of tobacco and signs a statement, a copy of which will be placed on file in the 
office of the employer, that he/she has read the regulation and applicable state and federal laws. 
 

8. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an 
establishment that sells tobacco or nicotine delivery products must apply for a new permit. No new 
permit will be issued unless and until all outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are 
satisfied in full. 
 

9. Issuance of a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an 
applicant’s consent to unannounced, periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment by the Peabody 
Board of Health or its agents to ensure compliance with this regulation. 
 

10. Issuance and holding of a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on 
an applicant’s on-going compliance with current Massachusetts Department of Revenue requirements 
and policies including, but not limited to, minimum retail prices of tobacco products. 

  
11. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has 

failed to pay all fines issued and the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or has not satisfied 
any outstanding permit suspensions. 

 
F. Cigar Sales Regulated: 
 

1. No retailer, retail establishment, or other individual or entity shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or 
distributed a cigar unless the cigar is contained in an original package of at least four (4) cigars. 
 

2. This Section shall not apply to: 
 

a. The sale or distribution of any cigar having a retail price over a minimum established by the Peabody 
Board of Health and from time to time modified by the Board of Health. This minimum price will be 
established yearly and notification shall be made to all permit holders at the time of annual permit 
renewal. 

 
b. A person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for commercial purposes to 

another person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for commercial purposes 
with the intent to sell or distribute outside the boundaries of Peabody. 

 
c. Retail Tobacco Stores. 
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G. Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps: 
 
No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps in Peabody.   
 
H. Free Distribution and Coupon Redemption: 
 
No person shall distribute, or cause to be distributed, any free samples of tobacco products or nicotine delivery 
products.  No means, instruments or devices that allow for the redemption of all tobacco products or nicotine 
delivery products for free or cigarettes at a price below the minimum retail price determined by the 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue shall be accepted by any permit holder. 
 

I. Out-of-Package Sales: 
 

It is unlawful to sell or distribute cigarettes or nicotine delivery products out of the manufacturer’s package with 
required health warnings. No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be distributed, any 
cigarette package that contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single cigarettes. 
 
J. Self-Service Displays: 
All self-service displays of tobacco products and/or nicotine delivery products are prohibited. All humidors 
including, but not limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked. The only self-service displays that are 
permissible pursuant to U.S. FDA and Massachusetts Attorney General regulations are displays that are located 
in retail tobacco stores that ensure that no person younger than twenty-one (21) years is present, or permitted to 
enter, at any time. All displays must be under the direct supervision (i.e. within 10 feet with an unobstructed 
view) of the clerk. 
 
K. Vending Machines:  
 
All tobacco and/or nicotine delivery product vending machines are prohibited.   The only vending machines that 
are permissible pursuant to U.S. FDA and Massachusetts Attorney General regulations are machines equipped 
with lock-out devices, located in facilities, as of the enactment date of this regulation, that ensure that no person 
younger than twenty-one (21) years is present, or permitted to enter at any time, and that hold valid pouring 
liquor licenses. A lock-out device locks out sales from the vending machine unless a release mechanism is 
triggered by an employee. The release mechanism must not allow continuous operation of the vending machine 
and must be out of the reach of all consumers and in a location accessible only to employees. 
 
L.  Non-residential Roll-Your-Own Machines: 
 
All non-residential Roll-Your-Own machines are prohibited. 
 
M. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Products by Educational Institutions: 
 
No educational institution located in Peabody shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco or nicotine delivery 
products. This includes all educational institutions as well as any retail establishments that operate on the 
property of an educational institution. 
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N. Violations: 
 

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to 
ensure compliance with all sections of this regulation pertaining to his or her distribution of tobacco 
and/or nicotine delivery products. The violator shall receive: 
 

a. In the case of a first violation, a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) shall be assessed.   
 
b. In the case of a second violation within 36 months of the date of the current violation, a fine of two 

hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00) shall be assessed and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product 
Sales Permit may be suspended for up to seven (7) consecutive business days. 

 
c. In the case of three or more violations within a 36 month period, a fine of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) shall be assessed and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit may be 
suspended for up to sixty (60) consecutive business days. 

 
2. Refusal to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the 

Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business days. 
  

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution of 
tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly to a consumer while his or her permit is suspended shall 
be subject to the suspension of all Board of Health issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business 
days. 

 
4. The Peabody Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew a 

Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor 
and establish a time and date for a hearing which date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the 
date of said notice. The permit holder or its business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard at such 
hearing and shall be notified of the Board of Health's decision and the reasons therefore in writing. After 
a hearing, the Peabody Board of Health may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew the Tobacco and 
Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of this regulation 
occurred.  For purposes of such proceedings, the Board shall make the determination notwithstanding 
any separate criminal or non-criminal proceedings brought in court hereunder or under the 
Massachusetts General Laws for the same offense. All tobacco products and nicotine delivery products 
shall be removed from the retail establishment upon suspension, revocation, or non-renewal of the 
Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit. Failure to remove all tobacco and nicotine 
delivery products shall constitute a separate violation of this regulation. 

 
O. Non-Criminal Disposition: 
 
Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of disposition 
as provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D or by filing a criminal complaint at the 
appropriate venue. 
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Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense. 
 
P. Enforcement: 
 
Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Peabody Board of Health or its designated agent(s). 
Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation may do so by contacting the 
Peabody Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate. 
 
Q. Severability: 
 
If any provision of these regulations is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be 
affected thereby but shall continue in full force and effect. 
 
R. Effective Date: 
 
This regulation shall take effect 120 days after adoption by the Peabody Board of Health. Date of adoption: 
August 27, 2015 . Effective date: January 1, 2016. 
 


